Time to read.

There are some books that you read, and know you will then read again all through your lifetime. Here are a list of mine.
The Far Pavillions by M. M. Kaye
Shadow of the Moon by M. M. Kaye
Lord of the Rings by Tolkien
Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
Northanger Abbey by Jane Austin
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Travis McGee series by John D. MacDonald
all of Rummer Godden’s books
Nine Coaches Waiting by Mary Stewart
The Rosemary Tree by Elizabeth Goudge
The Shipping News by Annie Proulx
Phantom by Susan Kay
all of Rosamund Pilchers books
The Dwelling Place by Catherine Cookson
Girl from Goldenhawk by Violet Winspear
The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons
all of Agatha Christies books
Peachtree Road by Anne Rivers Siddons
Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling
Twilight by Stephanie Meyers
Dracula by Bram Stoker
Frankenstein by Mary Shelly
* * *
These are just a few really, because there are other books and series that I read and read again as well. I never get tired of them and usually will read the same book every couple of years and sometimes every year. A change in seasons is the catalyst for me. At the first hint of summer, when I’ve traveled up to Georgia from my home in Florida not too far away, I will feel the need to find my copy of Gone With the Wind, and then as the days grow warmer I will feel the need to revisit John D. MacDonalds fabulous Travis McGee series.
A great author can do that, write a book that brings you back again and again. Even though you know the plot and remember what happened, the dialogue and charaters, and small bits in the book will provide fresh and wonderful reading pleasure no matter how many times you go back and read it again.

2 thoughts on “Time to read.

  1. I have to say, I end up reading Agatha Christie books repeatedly by accident. I started reading her maybe 10-15 years ago and between the amount of time since I’ve read some of them and the differing American and British titles for some of them, I just get all mixed up. And you know what? Even when I reread them, she still tricks me! That’s how good she is.

Leave a Reply

